Green buildings

Green Star SA rating tools look at a number of categories to assess the environmental impact of a project’s site selection, design and construction. Points are awarded for each of the following:
1.  Management
6. Materials
2.  Indoor Environment Quality (IEQ)           
7. Land Use & Ecology
3. Energy
8. Emissions
4. Transport
9. Innovation
5. Water
10. Additional available category: Socio-Economic (SEC)

Design certification is awarded at the end of the design phase of a project. When construction is complete, the project can be submitted for As Built certification, which verifies the procurement and implementation of green building strategies.